Last night it dawned on me that the day before I dislocated my knee cap & became incapacitated I mentioned my need for a day off, a day without responsibility for anyone or anything. Apparently, I got my wish. While I now can’t do anything for myself & spend most of my day on the sofa or in bed, & have to be waited-on hand & foot, this isn’t exactly what I had in mind.

My brother has been more than great, taking over the care of the dogs, the house, & me. He’s doing everything; not exactly the vacation from school that he’d planned for. I’m incredibly glad he’s here. Honestly, don’t know what I would do without him. Few people would put up with me as well. But, this might be too much of a good thing. Day 2 & I’m over it. I want to cook for myself. I want to drive. I want to be able to move without someone clearing the way for me.

Besides, when I said I wanted a break, I meant I wanted one so I could go do something fun–a drive up to Santa Barbara, walking through shops, a movie, dinner, a drink. Sitting on your ass, hour after hour, doesn’t quite have the same fun factor!

Oh well, I guess I should be thankful for what I’ve been given–a break. Maybe I’ll be good & use it to do some writing.

By the way…you might have noticed the new copyright notice on the sidebar here. My last post got splogged–meaning the full text of the post was lifted and posted on someone else’s blog under their name & without attribution to me. I never would have known about this phenomenon if I hadn’t read about it on Susan Johnston’s blog, The Urban Muse, a couple weeks ago. I hadn’t thought it would happen to a personal diary type blog like mine, but apparently I was naive. There’s nothing I can really do to fix the problem. I did leave a comment on “my post” asking politely for it to be removed since it was used without permission & without attribution, but I’m doubting anything will come of it. And I realize the copyright notice will probably do little, but if it deters one person I guess that’s good. I guess it’s just the pitfalls of modern technology & lazy, unoriginal people.

