Yeah, so I’ve been a bad blogger. I apologize profusely. I am thoroughly chastised.

So, what have I been up to?

The magazine job is still going well. Almost 5 months in and it still feels like a great fit. I’ve had two feature articles published at this point–one on the national sleep poll and another on recruiting in the respiratory therapist industry–two topics I’d never thought I’d write about. Even though this is medical/trade publishing, it’s still great experience. I don’t know where I want my career in magazine publishing to go. All I know is that for right now, it’s the right fit for my skills, interests, and strengths. And it gives me a chance to write and edit.

So, the novel…it remains a work in progress. To be honest I haven’t made much progress in the last couple of months. I ended up dropping my spring quarter writing class. I know it would have kept me writing more consistently, but 4 weeks into the course I just got so frustrated with spending my little free time on critiques of the other students’ work. While I usually love doing critiques–despite my occasional complaints, this time around I was feeling incredibly selfish with my time. I wanted to be reading great writers (I’ve been on a major reading binge the last 4 months) and learning from them how it’s done, not beginning writers who are trying to figure it out. Yes, there is something to be learned from the work and critiques of other students’ work. But I just hit a wall this spring.

The other issue was that I felt this overwhelming urge to be in a little cocoon with my novel. While I appreciate the critiques from my instructor and fellow students, I just new that at this point, the words I write need to be for my eyes only. I honestly feel like I need to get to the end of this draft before another person lays eyes on those pages. I don’t want to be critiqued as I work my way forward. Being forced to focus so much on those earlier pages makes it hard to move forward with the later pages. My focus is diverted.

So, while I haven’t exactly been a diligent novel writer in the months since I dropped the class, I know it was the right decision. And I know the novel will get done. That’s not in doubt. I still even hold out hope for the end of the year.

In the meantime, I’ve been reading like crazy–and learning from the best.

Alright, so new blog goal…at least one post a week…maybe even about my novel progress. Fingers crossed.

