To start off the new year I’ve decided to do a little digital cleanse. In other words, I’m cutting myself off from Twitter, Facebook, & all media sites (i.e., gossip, entertainment, & actual real news) for one week. This is similar to my one week news blackout last year.

I heard about this idea via Twitter–a retweet of a tweet linking to this post. I like the idea of starting off the new year with a little less garbage & distraction. Also, it’s a great way to figure out just how much time I spend on all those sites. While I can live with a week of no Facebook, Twitter, & media, the proposed no texting idea just isn’t going to work for me. There are certain people in my life who it’s just better that I only text & not talk to. Not texting would not be good for my mental well-being like the rest of this digital cleanse. So, in lieu of the no texting, all add in a TV news blackout. So, this cleanse will be a more extreme than my only news one.

So far, I slipped once–clicked on my Facebook page; & have an overwhelming urge to look at my Twitter feed. In my defense, the FB click was out of habit. I momentarily forgot about my plans.

I’ll be curious to see how I spend my time on the internet without those sites, because I have the sinking feeling–30 minutes into this–that I spend A LOT of time on those sites without realizing it. So, hopefully this will be conducive to writing & reading this week. We’ll see. At least I’ll still have this blog & email. (Maybe I’ll add those two to my 2011 digital cleanse.)

And as always, if the world ends & I miss the news story…feel free to email me or comment here just to let me know. Otherwise, I’ll reenter social-networking & media world on January 8th.

