Currently listening to: Can’t Hide by Sarah Jarosz

Today marks the halfway mark for National Novel Writing Month (i.e., NaNoWriMo), which means I should be at 25,000 words. Hmmm…well, let’s just say I’m a bit short. No need for specifics. I’m not counting myself out quite yet. I have made movement, but any significant advance in my word count was curbed by some serious editing & preparing for my second submission of pages for my novel class last week. Comments have started coming in on those, but I haven’t yet looked at them. No, I’m not having another anxiety attack about being liked, but rather, I don’t want to get sidetracked. If I look at them, I’m going to want to go back right now and work on whatever needs fixing when my focus needs to be on moving forward. So,  I will refrain, at least until tomorrow when they will demand my attention so that I can ask follow-up questions and issue some thank you’s to classmates & instructor for reading.

As for the novel-in-progress, I’ve hit the 1/3-mark on this draft in terms of plot. I know, it seems like I should be further along, but we’ll blame the slow progress on that misguided character addition a couple months ago. That caused me to scrap a significant amount of pages when I first realized the error of my ways, and then another bunch of pages that I realized had led me there. At this point, I kind of feel like I’m hitting freefall again with this story. The first third has always been the part of the story I’ve been 100% sure about and that I’ve known inside and out. It’s this pesky stuff in the middle and that illusive ending that remain a bit hazy. Yes, I have a first draft with a beginning, middle, and end, but I refuse to look at it. I can’t really explain why, but I just know I need to see what steps these characters take in this version. I need to let it be totally organic. I need to let them be who they are in this draft, and not try and pigeonhole them into who they were in my first draft. So, freefall.

Well, time to write. Did a 1000 words this morning at a write-in and hoping for another 2000 before the night is over. A tad ambitious, but I remain optimistic. I have my favorite ginger peach green tea and peanut M&Ms to fortify me…or make me sick. We’ll see. Later.

 

