Currently listening to: Fine for Now by Grizzly Bear (from their new album “Veckatimest”)

Dilemma. For my current writing class, my final project has to be a 10-page short story. This short story should be an expansion of an earlier scene submitted during the course of the class.

I was sure that I was going to go expand the scene I wrote 2 weeks ago. In my head that was the one I was going to finish & submit for critique…even though I hadn’t quite figured out how I was going to expand it.

Now, as I try to work on my assignment that is due tomorrow…my assignment that should be further work on what I will submit for my final project in another 2 weeks…I can’t figure out if I should go with that scene or another. I made the mistake of going back & rereading another scene I submitted much earlier in the class, & now I think that’s the one I should go with. There’s more room for expansion. I can see it, admittedly it’s a little hazy, but I have to admit, it’s clearer than the one I had thought I was going to go with. It’s not that I had my heart set on one or the other, but it’s taking me a bit to wrap my head around this new direction. I know I should accept that at least for now the one I thought I was going to work with just isn’t ready. I need to accept that this other scene is the one that is ready to go.

I guess I need to accept my instructor’s advice to put the piece I’d intended to work on away for a little while longer; maybe then it will be more malleable. I hate that she’s right!

Patience is not one of my virtues.

