Image: Leo Reynolds via flickr

Image: Leo Reynolds via flickr

Five months.

I actually woke up crying. Not a great way to start the day. Luckily an old friend from high school was in town, so we were meeting up with another of my good friends for a late breakfast. We ended up hanging out for about 4 hours, which was a great way to distract myself from the day. I did ok the rest of the day. Enough to keep myself busy. I guess I should see it as a good thing that I was able to get the crying out of the way early in the day.

Today was actually the birthday of one of the friends I met up with today. The unfortunate thing is that my mother died on her 5-year wedding anniversary. My friend, “A”, actually knew my mother well. “A” got the call about my mother in the middle of celebrating her anniversary with her husband. She was here within the hour of me finding my mother & spent the rest of the evening here at the house with everyone else until she had to go home to her 1-year old son.

I guess I’m hyperaware of dates & connections. Saturdays. The 20th. I wonder when that will stop.

