Currently listening to: All Right by Sigur Ros

Today, a member of my writing group emailed me this article from Writer’s Digest by Elizabeth Sims:

Get Messy With Your First Draft

Sims writes about letting yourself be free and open when writing your first draft. Tell your control freak side to surrender. Just let go & write. Don’t worry about structure. Don’t worry about ideas that come out of nowhere or tangents that don’t quite fit, get them all down on paper regardless. Don’t judge your writing. If you do this, you’ll find your second draft to be an easier going because you will have more good stuff than you know what to do with.

I think I followed Sims advice to a certain extent. My control freak-structured-side & my creative-day dreamy-writer-side have been at war for years. So, I did worry about structure & I did over think a lot of things. But I did explore the tangents; & I think for the most part, I let whatever was floating around in my over active imagination come out. And what she says about having an easier going on the second draft because you’ll have more good stuff than you know what to do with, I have to say, it’s kind of true. Admittedly, I’m struggling with transitions, tense, & other issues, but I’ve also had moments where I’ve realized that it’s ok to kill a darling because there is something else that’s even better. Now, that’s kind of cool & helps restore my faith that I will, eventually, get this done.

As for today’s writing progress…urgh! Stuck on a transition in the first chapter that I need to revise. Trying to move a scene from the past to the present, and I can’t find the right words to reestablish the present moment. I’ve spent the last 45-minutes moving around & rewriting the paragraph I wrote yesterday to address the problem, and it still doesn’t feel right. I want to be done with it so I can move on to the next page, the next scene. I hate that I’m letting myself get hung up on one transition, but I really don’t want to move on until I have this figured out. As I wrote yesterday, this draft is about being more methodical & taking my time to get these things right. Part of me wants to just let it lie for awhile, & I might end up doing just that, but first I want to see if I can get it done.

I guess I’ll let it go for tonight & try again tomorrow.

