Currently listening to: Climbing Up the Walls by Radiohead (I’m a little obsessed with this song these days.)

I’m proud of myself. I spent a good 3-4 hours writing. Actually, it was more revising than anything.

I don’t know how I had intended the writing of this 2nd draft to proceed. I don’t think I was planning to plow through from beginning to end with no stops in between like I did for draft 1. That technique worked great for getting the story down on paper & out of my head. I had to keep myself from over thinking as I wrote it just to get through it.

So, now on draft 2, I’m wondering what I was planning to do. I don’t think I was just going to plow through again, leaving holes & problems to be fixed on draft 3, but maybe I was. Maybe I was thinking that I just needed to get through a draft in 1st person from beginning to end to see if it worked.

Today it dawned on me; that isn’t the plan. The writing of draft 2 is going to be more methodical & slower going. It’s not that I don’t want there to be a draft 3–there likely will be. I accept that as a given. But I want to fix the holes & problems before I move forward so I know that I’m heading in the right direction.

Today I spent those 3-4 hours reworking & revising the first 10-pages. As I said in my last post, the main criticism of those pages was that the transitions were confusing & my tenses were all over the place because of the shifts from present to past to past-past. I spent the better part of this time fixing those problems. Some of it required adding more words to make a transition more prominent, while other parts were fixed by moving things around.

I’m feeling more confident about the progression of these pages. I still have a major scene I need to write to address one of the transitions in those pages, & right now, it’s just not coming to me. So, I’m taking a break, & will try again later. Once that is done, I think I will be able to start going forward on the next 15-pages of new material.

Progress is good.

