…and still counting.

At least Christmas is over. Got through it by ignoring it. I slept through Christmas Eve as I slept off the morphine. Christmas Day managed to be a non-event as I didn’t feel like going anywhere. My brother & I just stayed home watched movies & avoided the day. Worked out well. We agreed that next year we’ll make an effort, but this year it just wasn’t going to happen. The knee just made it easier to do that & get away with it.

Went to my writing group this morning. Nice to get out & to catch up. Not so much writing. I know, I know. I need to write. I need to get on it, but apparently I’m a master of avoidance. A theme these days I suppose.

On my own this evening. My brother & his girlfriend are off to see friends they haven’t seen since coming into town. I’ve been left with my supplies in reach: TV remote, laptop, books, magazines, assorted pain killers (although really haven’t needed them), water, & snacks. They took the dogs for a long walk & fed them before they left. They’re sleeping now. Hopefully that will remain the case until they get back. Otherwise if they’re looking for attention or to go out, I’m screwed; or rather they are.

Leo is doing well. The 2nd round of chemo seems to have gone as well as last weeks–no noticeable side effects. He has been a little restless & OCD the last 2 days but our feeling is that has more to do with what happened to me than the chemo. I think having paramedics in the house again & being locked outside while they were here brought some bad memories back for the dogs. Plus the fact that I haven’t been the primary care giver threw Leo a bit. Today he seems better; more settled. So, I think we’re good.

Benign day. I guess those are good.

I’m looking forward to the end of 2008 & the start of 2009 this week. I believe next year will be better than this year. I intend to make it so, because I can’t do another year like this year.

Image: Slightlynorth via flickr

