Today is my half-birthday. This used to be incredibly important when I was younger. Really, when does the half birthday lose it’s significance? I kind of like the idea. It’s kind of a mid-way evaluation point. A sort of review point to see if you are on track with another year of your life. Awfully useful.

Actually, the reason I tend to remember mine & take note of it is because my brother’s birthday is the day after.

Anyways, I’ve decided that I’m taking note of this opportunity to look back on the last 6 months & take stock. Pretty much, they sucked. Well, not all of it. The summer was fine. Just the last 10 weeks of it sucked for obvious reasons. I will acknowledge one good thing to come out of the last 6 months: I finished the 1st draft of my novel. That’s definitely an accomplishment. And, I’ve actually moved ahead with the 2nd draft, even if it hasn’t been given the attention it deserves or requires.

But, alas, I resolve to put the last half of the year behind me. Ok, not really behind me. There are plenty of reminders that will never let me do that. But I choose to move forward & to get working on the goals I’d set for myself in this my 33rd year of life. Namely, my freaking novel!!!

So, I have 6 months from today; 6 months until my 34th birthday, to get it done. And I mean done. No more drafts. No more edits. Done. Finished. Either submitted or ready to be submitted to editors & agents.

I really need something else, something good, to remember this year for.

Image: Crimsonically Yours via flickr

