So, today was ok. Was able to put much of the depressing thoughts out of mind for the better part of the day. I’m trying not to think about Leo’s prognosis, mainly because I don’t know what it is yet. I did make the mistake of googling the type of tumor the vet said he had. Probably shouldn’t have done that. I’ve decided to just wait for the rest of the info from the vet & I’ll go from there.

My mother got my brother & me our first dogs when our parents divorced. I guess it was our divorce settlement & probably a way for my mother to get back at my father–he’s allergic. Those first 2 dogs, Sammy & Benny, adorable Basset Hounds, both died of very serious illnesses. Sammy was diagnosed with Valley Fever when he was 3. He died a year later. Benny was diagnosed with Lymphoma when he was 9. We had to put him to sleep the day I moved home from college. Our family policy has always been that as long as our dogs are not in pain, enjoying life, & seem happy, then we’re good. If they’re in pain or their quality of life is compromised, then we don’t prolong their life just to make it easier on ourselves. So, I’m trying to remember this.

Today, Leo is completely himself. He has the energy of a hyper 2-year old. I don’t know yet how many more days like this there will be. There’s no way to know that. We just have to take it 1 day at a time.

God, I’m way to rational right now. I have my moments. And then I have others.

Seriously, I really need to fundamentally, mind-blowingly good news soon!

