The kid in question is my dog, Leo. He’s doing well today. He’s his usual bright, perky, and somewhat annoying self. The only difference is he’s not supposed to be running & jumping, so I have to grab him when he’s about to run & bark at a stranger walking by. And if I put him up on the sofa or bed to sleep (where he seems most comfortable), I have to keep an eye on him to make sure he doesn’t jump down on his own. Kind of cuts into my sleep time. With the plastic cone around his neck, his ability to eat & drink on his own is slightly impeded. Although, the drinking problem has been somewhat resolved. I found a dog bowl stand my mother must have bought sometime ago. It raises the bowls off the floor & he’s able to drink without knocking the bowl over. (I’m tired of stepping in puddles of water & having to make sure they’re puddles of water.) I had to put a t-shirt on him today. While the cone does a great job of keeping him from licking or biting his sutures, it’s useless at keeping him from scratching at it with his back leg. So, the t-shirt is on to offer some protection. I’ve never dressed my dogs up before, but seriously, he looks so freaking cute. The t-shirt is too big on him (on purpose, I didn’t want one that was too tight around his leg). He’s drowning in it. I have to roll it up when he goes out to do his business. I’m not saying I’m going to start dressing these guys, but seriously, I get how people get sucked into doing so now.

I didn’t sleep much last night. Woke up at 2 when Leo was coughing (a result of the incubation during surgery) & then he wanted to sleep on the sofa with me. So, I ended up with half the sofa & had to keep an eye on him to make sure he didn’t wake up & jump off on his own. Ended up watching some early morning TV. Stumbled upon one of my favorite movies, Stealing Beauty, on cable at 4 AM. I don’t think I’ve seen it since it came out in 1996. I remember seeing it right before I went to Bologna, Italy to study for a year. (God, that was over 10 years ago now. It doesn’t feel like that long ago. Time seriously flies!) Anyways, beautiful coming of age film by Bernardo Bertolucci. I love simple films like this one. Movies like this put me in the mood to write. I need to buy the DVD.

Not a bad day. A little tired. Two more days till this is hopefully all behind us.

Remember: BENIGN, BENIGN, BENIGN

