Came across this exercise here while doing some blog reading this evening. Apparently, the exercise originated here. The idea is to come up with 5 reasons why you love writing & 5 reasons why you think your WIP rocks. So, here are my thoughts.

5 Reasons I Love Writing:

  1. My overactive imagination is put to good use.
  2. I can’t draw, paint, or play the piano all that well. This is my art form; my way of expressing myself.
  3. There is a beginning, a middle, and an end that I am in complete control of.
  4. When an idea works, it has a life of its own; but still, I’m somehow responsible.
  5. It’s my escape from the mundane.

5 Reasons I Think My WIP Rocks:

  1. It’s an interesting take on the idea of the absentee parent.
  2. The tangled web of unlikely relationships.
  3. My main character’s psychology.
  4. Symbols & themes emerge without me planning them.
  5. I can actually see it in my head & I think it all works well.

Image: YanivG via flickr

