As the day dragged on, my anxiety level has definitely amped up. I’m completely positive that Leo’s surgery is going to go fine tomorrow, but still…. It’s surgery & it’s not like I can really explain to him that I’m doing this to help him & that he’ll be fine–even though I keep doing exactly that. I just want tomorrow to go as quickly as possible & get him home.

I’m coming to terms with the fact that my chances of winning NaNoWriMo this year are quickly dwindling. And I’m okay with it. I thought doing NaNo would be a great distraction & return to normalcy, but I don’t think I’m ready. Throw in everything that’s been going on with Leo & I’m amazed I’ve even gotten 7,500 words in. I’m happy with the direction I’ve taken with the rewrite, but the reality is I can’t rush it if I want to do it right; & doing it right is going to take vast amounts of focus & concentration that I just don’t have right now. So, I’m letting myself off the hook. I will keep working on it. I still want to get draft #2 done (hopefully by the end of the year) and will continue to work on it. But, I’m going to be a little more lenient with myself & be ok with not being ready to dive in completely.

Image: Magitisa via flickr

