Currently listening to: Secret Meeting by The National

Work. Lunch with friends. Entertained a baby. Ran some errands. Got whined at by one of my dogs (he’s very vocal). Went & got my WIP draft printed–all 228 pages. I think the plan is to work on draft #2. The road has forked & this is the direction I need to take. The more I think about it the more I realize I have put in so much time–over a year–into this story already. I can’t imagine chucking it & starting over from scratch while keeping my promise to submit to conferences at the end of the year. So, NaNoWriMo will be all about draft #2. Not exactly keeping true to the intention of NaNo, but I will have 50,000 words of something, even if it’s something old, & not something new.

I guess today was benign, as most of my days are these days. Neither worthy of saying good, nor horrible enough to warrant being called bad. Throughout the day, I found myself thinking how unreal her death seems. I still feel like she’s just out-of-town; she’ll be back. I know that’s not reality, but I honestly can’t convince myself. My mind has a mind of it’s own.

This is just surreal.

Image: Whatknot via flickr

