National Novel Writing Month starts in just 10 short days. In case you’ve never heard of NaNoWriMo, it’s a month dedicated to writing a novel. Participants strive to write 50,000 words in 30 days. (For more info, go here.)

I’ve participated & “won” NaNoWriMo for the last 3 years. The novel I’ve been working on emerged out of those 3 NaNo runs. Each year I started with a different story idea, but the same characters kept emerging until it finally just came together last year & I realized what story I was trying to write.

I love doing NaNo. It’s grueling, but the competitive part of me likes having a goal & a time limit. It’s fun. Admittedly, NaNo doesn’t always breed the best quality material, but it does give you material. It gets you started or keeps you going.

Now I can use the distraction of NaNoWriMo more than ever. So, I’m still going ahead, & come November 1, I will be slogging away (as Sounio). Not sure yet what I’m going to be working on. But even if I don’t have it figured out this week, I know that come November 1, I’ll be writing something.

