Mood: yawning

Currently listening to: Tisis Momar by Emily Wells

So, yes, I am on track with the word war. Kudos to me! Although, in the interest of full disclosure, I did not write yesterday. And how am I still managing to be on track? Well, I’ve actually managed in these first few days to exceed the 1000 words a day goal. So, alas, I was able to somewhat guiltlessly take a day off. So spent yesterday having dinner at a friend’s house. Sitting outside with a couple of glasses of wine and a lovely dinner I didn’t have to make. Played trains with a 2-year old who informed me that cheese can’t read. My bad. And reminisced about those long ago days in Catholic school.

So, to stay on track, I need to knock out at least 920 words, although a 1000 to be good, before I crash. Am currently fighting the urge to curl up and go to sleep, or at the very least read a magazine (picked up Vanity Fair and Poets & Writers today) or get going on a new book (You Don’t Love Me Yet by Jonathan Lethem). But alas, I must be good. I have to admit, the fact that this blog is now read by a few friends who can hold me accountable is really motivating me not to fail miserably with another word war. So, thanks all.

Off to be good (and to stop wasting words here).

***

Update: So, going to be behind 920 words. Just started feeling ill as soon as I posted earlier and am just going to crash. Feel better now–2 hours later. Who knows. Will catch up tomorrow or this weekend. I’ve come back from worse word deficits.

