Mood: Serene + Hungry

Currently listening to: Astronaut by Amanda Palmer (feat. Zoe Keating)

So, yesterday I found in my purse the last 2 chapters I’ve written of my WIP. I had printed them out last week to read so I could figure out where to go next. So, had time to kill at the mechanic…car wouldn’t start yesterday, so had to have it towed. Not fun. Luckily, it’s nothing major, but reminds me how much I’m over the whole car ownership/driving thing. I’d bloody kill for decent public transportation in LA. But I digress…So, I got to reading the last 2 chapters I’ve written, and low and behold, they don’t totally suck. I mean, seriously. I’m hyper-critical of my own writing, and I can even say, that while not perfect, they’re not bad. This is the first time in a while that I’ve gone back and read a significant portion of my WIP before moving onto the next scene. I tend to avoid doing that because I don’t want to start editing myself and obsessing with old stuff instead of moving forward towards THE END.

So, really, kind of feeling good about the whole thing. Shocking, I know. And I hate to say this, but the close 3rd POV kind of works. (I promise, I will refrain from subjecting you, my dear reader, and myself, to another POV debate in this post.) Not sure what this means long term, but I’m just going with it and moving forward.

While I haven’t been the most disciplined of writers since my last post, things are moving ahead, slowly. I’ve been better than I’ve been…which probably isn’t saying much, but nonetheless, it’s something. It’s progress.

So, update on the summer reading. Finished The Bell Jar a couple weeks back. Really liked it. Not sure what that says about me. I’d always heard the book referred to as depressing and not a book that anyone with thoughts of suicide should read. I didn’t get that. Maybe I’m looking at it from a more technical point of view–good character development, good use of 1st person POV, great detail. But then I was talking to Sara, who recommended I read it, and we came to the conclusion that if you are in your early 20s like the main character and at that stage of your life where you don’t know where you are going or who you are, then it could be depressing, etc. But, since we/I are in our 30s and have a vague idea of who we are and what we are doing and have had some accomplishments in our lives, it resonates in a different way.

Next I read Ian McEwan’s On Chesil Beach. Quick read. Well done. I love how he does so much with a story that essentially is set within the first couple hours of a couple’s honeymoon. Now, I’m on to Hemingway’s A Farewell to Arms. Only about a fifth of the way through so far, but must say, I like Hemingway’s writing style. I like the use of declarative sentences. The rhythm of his writing keeps it from getting monotonous. It’s so bad that this is the first thing I’ve ever read by him. Apparently, I didn’t know what I was missing. Although, maybe I should withhold judgement until I’ve finished the book.

In addition to some good books recently, have come across some new music finds that are keeping me sated.

  • The new Sigur Rós album, Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust, is officially my favorite Sigur Rós album. I tend to favor them when I’m trying to work or write. Great, beautiful background music. Also incredibly good if you’re looking for something to chill out to. So, if you love a little Icelandic rock, check it out. Also, must add, they are great live. Saw them at Coachella in 2006. Early evening, under the desert sky–nothing better. Loving the song Illgresi.
  • Peter Gabriel’s new album/project, Big Blue Ball. I’m a sucker for anything the man does. In the early 90s, he brought a bunch of world musicians together at his studio for recording sessions, and this is what came out of it. It’s taken more than a decade to finally release it.
  • Just came across the song Astronaut by Amanda Palmer last week. Was checking out one of my favorite music blogs (stereogum.com) and they mentioned it. She’s part of The Dresden Dolls out of Boston. I’ve never been a major Dolls fan–a little too cabaret for me, but I’m loving her solo stuff. Her album doesn’t come out until September (it’s going to be a long wait), but she has a couple of songs, including Astronaut, on her myspace page; so, something to tide me over. Also, can I add that she worked with Ben Folds on this album. Love him as well.

Ok, so it’s a lovely day, even if is supposed to hit 100 today. Have work to do, but part of me is feeling the need to blow it off and go get some ice cream and hit the bookstore. Actually, what I need is lunch, or to be more precise breakfast. It’s noon and I haven’t eaten yet. Time to go forage.

