Mood: (Naively) Optimistic

Currently Listening to: Count to Ten by Tina Dico

So, here we go. Or, more accurately, here I go.

I’ve embarked on a bastardized version of Script Frenzy with one of my writing group members. Instead of a 100-pages of a screenplay in 30 days, we’re doing 100-pages, single-spaced, of our novels. Essentially, NaNoWriMo in April. Although, we just discovered a little while ago that 100-pages, single-spaced is more than the 50K that NaNo entails. For now, I’m just concentrating on 3-pages a day. A little less daunting than 1800-words a day. At least that’s what I’m telling myself.

So far, I have a little over 2-pages for the day. Should have the 3 by the end of the night, no problem.

In other writing news, had a really good writing group on Saturday. It involved the use of a whiteboard and diagrams to explain my plot to my writing group members. They helped me figure out some plot points and character issues that had surfaced earlier last week while I was doing all those background exercises in preparation for Script Frenzy. They were so helpful. I didn’t realize how long I’d been trying to figure it all out in my own head with no success. Talking (and diagramming) it all out with them made all the difference. It even helped me moved forward with doing scene cards. I’d been avoiding doing them because I was stuck at a certain point; but now, I have a much better idea of what happens around there and even an idea of how to handle my ending. So, yeah!

My writing class also started today. Well, technically it starts tomorrow, but it’s an online class, so the instructor has already posted the lecture notes and reading & writing assignments. A little nervous because it seems like a lot more work than any of my other writing classes. And taking it while I’m doing this 100-page challenge could prove a tad bit overwhelming.

So, all in all: feeling good about where my novel is heading; about my 100-page progress; and about the writing class–even if it is all tinged with a bit of foreboding. We’ll see. Fingers crossed. X

