Mood: Distracted

Currently Listening To: Fiery Crash by Andrew Bird

Have spent the last day engaged in an internal debate over the merits of 1st and 3rd again. Was being drawn back into the pro 1st camp, but have again decided that I’m sticking with 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

I’m writing this in 3rd.

Sometimes I need to be told something a few hundred times before I get it. Maybe that’s what this is.

Anyways. On a positive note, I went back to an earlier draft of the opening that I workshoped in a writing class last summer and pulled out the opening from that for this opening of this draft. I like it in this draft. I think it works where some of my newer openings haven’t been. So, yeah there.

So, the first 5 chapters are in decent shape. Do still need to write C.4. I know what needs to go there, but just haven’t done it yet. But am happy to be past the scene that gets everything going. Now I’m in the action/story.

Oh, and have given my main character her old name back. Had been calling her Audrey for a good year, but for some reason a month ago, I switched it to Mya. Not sure why. It never really fit. Audrey fits better, I think. But have stuck with the name change for her boyfriend—Patrick wasn’t working for me, so have gone to Simon. Still not totally feeling his name, so that could still change somewhere down the road.

So, there we go. And yes, I’m procrastinating by writing this blog entry. But at least I’m writing something. Have a good hour before I have to be anywhere, so my intention is to sit here and work on it for that time. I’m at Starbucks, so no internet access to distract me. Will post this tonight when I am back online. Later.

