Mood: Frustrated

Currently Listening To: Clear the Area by Imogen Heap

I’d like to chalk it up to my own multiple personality issues, but I think that has little to do with my inability to settle on a point of view for this novel. I can make arguments for & against 1st and 3rd person limited. I had thought I was only good at 1st person, but then I was told that I write in 3rd pretty well. So, I attempted to write the opening chapters in 3rd and now I have two versions–a 1st and a 3rd POV–of this work in progress. And for the life of me, I can’t figure out which one to go with. It’s gotten so bad that I’m stuck. I can’t move on either of them because I can’t pick which one to work with. So, my writer’s block/procrastination has devolved into me flipping back and forth between each version for an hour till I get totally frustrated about not being able to settle on one that I give up writing for the day.

I desperately want to move forward on one of them, I just can’t figure out which one. Do I need the openness & self-awareness of 1st, or the detail & all-seeing virtues of 3rd. Maybe I should just split the difference and go with 2nd. Kill me now! Maybe I should just flip a coin. You think I’m kidding. I’m not. Heads–1st, Tails–3rd…crap, heads. Do-over. Ok, I think that solves the dilemma…3rd it is.

Ok, am hiding all 1st person drafts in a locked folder and only keeping the 3rd person open.

